Search SAFC


News & Events

South Australia’s screen sector wins big at Ruby Awards

17 December 2020

Legendary South Australian filmmaking duo Scott Hicks and Kerry Heysen AM were celebrated with the state’s highest arts and cultural honour at last night’s 2020 Ruby Awards, taking home the Premier’s Award for Lifetime Achievement.

The producer/director team were honoured for their immense contribution to the South Australian screen industry over more than 40 years. They shared the award with joint winner, late disability theatre creator Helen Flinter-Leach.

The award was presented by the Premier of South Australia The Hon. Steven Marshall MP, who said: “Mr Hicks’ single-minded determination to have his remarkable film Shine made, right here in South Australia, is a striking example of an artist not prepared to compromise on their creation. Alongside him was the other half of the creative force, producer Ms Heysen, whose ability to see what needs to be done to realise a major project such as a feature film – and get it done – is a major factor in the ongoing success they’ve enjoyed since meeting at Flinders University many years ago.”

SAFC Disability Screen Strategy Executive Gaelle Mellis was also honoured, winning the Geoff Crowhurst Memorial Award for individual contribution to community arts and cultural development, alongside joint winner, artist and designer Annabelle Collett.

Adelaide Studios based Closer Productions won the award for Best Work, Event or Project for Young People for drama series The Hunting.

Named after late arts patron Dame Ruby Litchfield, the annual Ruby Awards recognise artistic excellence, creative achievement, innovation, community involvement and inspirational leadership.

In 2019 the SAFC celebrated Ruby Awards for Tilda Cobham-Hervey (Frank Ford Memorial Young Achiever Award) and Hotel Mumbai (Best Work Within a Festival) for SA key creatives producer Julie Ryan and director and co-writer Anthony Maras, with the Premier’s Award shared between late stage and screen actor Paul Blackwell (Red Dog, Deadline Gallipoli) and David Gulpilil (Storm Boy, Ten Canoes, Australia, Crocodile Dundee).

The SAFC congratulates all the 2020 winners and nominees. For the full list of winners, click here.

« Back to News