Search SAFC


News & Events

South Australia shines in 2022 AACTA Award nominations

24 October 2022
SAFC supported productions nominated for 2022 AACTA Awards: The Stranger, Firebite, First Day, Aftertaste, The Tourist
SAFC supported productions nominated for 2022 AACTA Awards: The Stranger, Firebite, First Day, Aftertaste, The Tourist

South Australian screen productions, creatives and talent have shone in the nominations for the 2022 AACTA Awards.

SA made and SAFC supported feature film The Stranger from See Saw Films picked up 11 nominations including Best Film as well as Best Direction and Best Screenplay for writer/director Thomas M Wright, Best Cinematography, Best Editing, Best Production Design, Best Casting and Best Sound, with South Australian sound professional Will Sheridan named in the honours. The film also earned Best Actor and Best Supporting Actor nominations for Joel Edgerton and Sean Harris, as well as Best Supporting Actress for Jada Alberts.

In the television category SA made and SAFC supported drama series The Tourist scored six nominations including Best Drama Series, with South Australian producer Lisa Scott of Highview Productions named in the honours. The series also picked up a nomination for Best Production Design, and two nominations for Best Cinematography for two separate episodes, with South Australian DOP Geoffrey Hall ACS nominated for episode six. Star Jamie Dornan was nominated for Best Lead Actor in a Drama, with Damon Herriman nominated for Best Supporting Actor.

The return season of SA made and SAFC supported ABC comedy series Aftertaste from Adelaide’s Closer Productions was nominated for Best Comedy Program, for SA producers Rebecca Summerton and Erik Thomson, and SA creator and writer Matthew Bate and creator/writer Julie De Fina. The series also scored nominations for Best Original Score for SA composer Benjamin Speed, and Best Sound for SA practitioners Michael Darren and Leah McKeown of Artisan Post Group, along with SA sound practitioners Pete Smith and Josh Williams, as well as Best Comedy Performer for actor Wayne Blair.

Season two of Emmy Award winning SA made and SAFC supported ABC children’s series First Day was nominated for the AACTA for Best Children’s Program, for SA producers Kirsty Stark of Epic Films and Kate Butler of KOJO Studios, as was SAFC supported ABC and Netflix series MaveriX.

Warwick Thornton‘s SAFC supported First Nations vampire hunting series Firebite, which filmed in Coober Pedy and at Adelaide Studios and premiered in December on AMC+, picked up two craft award nominations for Best Production Design and Best Costume Design, with South Australian Heather Wallace named in the honours.

South Australian PDV company Rising Sun Pictures scored two nominations in the Best Visual Effects or Animation category, for their work on feature film Thor: Love and Thunder (Jake Morrison, Lisa Marra, Dan Oliver, Dan Bethell, Ian Cope) and for Elvis, with RSP’s Julian Hutchens named in the honours for Warner Bros Pictures. Post production on both films was supported by the SAFC’s SA PDV Rebate, with SA studios MPC and Resin also working on Elvis.

SAFC supported SBS series A Beginners’ Guide to Grief was nominated for Best Digital Series for SA writer Anna Lindner, SA producer Kate Butler and Linda Ujuk of KOJO Studios, SA producer Julie Byrne, and director Renee Mao, while SA made and SAFC supported feature film Gold picked up a nomination for Best Hair and Makeup.

SA sound practitioner Tom Heuzenroeder was also named in the nomination for Best Sound for feature film The Drover’s Wife The Legend of Molly Johnson.

The SAFC congratulates the entire creative teams on all nominated productions, with special congratulations to all nominated South Australian practitioners.

Winners will be announced at the 2022 AACTA Awards, which will be presented across two ceremonies in Sydney on 5 December and 7 December.

View all the nominees at

« Back to News