Search SAFC


News & Events

SAFC welcomes new members to First Nations Advisory Committee

09 July 2021
First Nations Advisory Committee members Dearna Newchurch (L) and Nancia Guivarra (R)
New First Nations Advisory Committee members Dearna Newchurch and Nancia Guivarra, images supplied.

The SAFC is delighted to welcome two new members to its First Nations Advisory Committee: Dearna Newchurch and Nancia Guivarra.

Hailing from the Kaurna and Narungga nations in South Australia, Dearna is an accomplished arts and events producer with a decade of experience who has worked across cultural organisations in Adelaide including the Adelaide Fringe, Adelaide Festival Centre and MOD. at UniSA.

Currently the First Nations Program Producer at the Australian Network for Art & Technology (ANAT), Dearna is passionate about creating opportunities and platforms which celebrate the intersection of art, culture and innovation and prioritising First Nations perspectives and understanding.

Nancia is a Meriam (Magaram clan), Wuthathi and Bindal Juru multimedia writer, producer and director working independently through her company Amneris Pty Ltd. Her experience includes more than 20 years at the ABC at Radio National and ABC Local Radio and Factual TV, as a producer of Deadly Sounds for Vibe Australia and as a senior journalist at NITV News and Current Affairs at SBS.

Comprising six First Nations leaders across business, the arts and screen sectors, the SAFC’s First Nations Advisory Committee brings a wealth of experience and cultural authority to guide, encourage, and provide direction on our First Nations screen initiatives.

Dearna and Nancia join committee members Major Moogy Sumner, Dennis Stokes, Natasha Wanganeen, and John Harvey.

Find out more about the committee members and the SAFC’s First Nations Screen Strategy here.

« Back to News