Search SAFC


News & Events

SA made series Ladies in Black to premiere in June

14 May 2024
Actors Miranda Otto, Debi Mazar and Jessica De Gouw stand against a plain background in 60's style fashion and hair-dos. The image is in black and white.
Miranda Otto, Debi Mazar and Jessica De Gouw in Ladies in Black.

The ABC has announced that the SA made and SA supported series Ladies in Black will premiere on Sunday 16 June at 8.30pm on ABC TV, with all episodes available to stream on ABC iview.

The six-part drama is the second series to be funded under the ABC SAFC Content Pipeline Fund and was filmed at the SAFC’s Adelaide Studios and at locations around Adelaide.

With a stellar cast led by renowned actresses Debi Mazar (Younger, Entourage), Miranda Otto (The Clearing, Talk To Me), Jessica De Gouw (The Drover’s Wife: The Legend of Molly Johnson, The Secret She Keeps) and introducing Clare Hughes and Azizi Donnelly, Ladies in Black, the television adaptation sees the beloved women from Goodes Department Store fling open their shop doors to the fabulous 60’s.

Following on from the 2018 film of the same name and drawing inspiration from the much-loved 1993 novel, Ladies in Black takes place six months after the events of the original story, where amidst this backdrop of major societal shifts, the women embracing more freedom and independence are forced to confront personal choices and challenges which cast shadows over their once cherished dreams.

For director Gracie Otto (The Artful Dodger, The Clearing, Heartbreak High) the story of Ladies in Black is still relevant for audiences today.

Otto said: “Ladies in Black is set at a time when my mother was a young woman. It’s interesting for today’s younger generation to imagine how few rights women had back then. It really was not that long ago. It’s great to explore that era but it’s also an amazing, fun world of fashion and friendships”.

Production credit: A Bunya Entertainment production. Major production investment from the ABC, South Australian Film Corporation and Screen Australia. Financed with support from Screen NSW. Producers: Sophia Zachariou, Angela Littlejohn, Greer Simpkin, David Jowsey. Executive Producers: Greg Waters, Allanah Zitserman, Sue Milliken. ABC Executive Producers: Louise Smith, Rachel Okine, Alex Baldwin, Sally Riley. Distributed by ABC Commercial.

« Back to News