Search SAFC


News & Events

Music for the screen steps into the spotlight at SongHubs in South Australia

19 July 2021

L-R: Amanda Brown, Jemma Burns, Jasper Leak, Morgan Read, François Tétaz
L-R: Amanda Brown, Jemma Burns, Jasper Leak, Morgan Read, François Tétaz. Image supplied.

After the overwhelming success and popular demand for the inaugural Screen Songhubs held in Los Angles in 2019, music rights organisation APRA AMCOS will host for the first time in Australia Screen SongHubs South Australia, in partnership with the South Australian Government’s Music Development Office.

Established and emerging composers and songwriters from across Australia and New Zealand will head to Palomino Sound Recorders, in Myponga, South Australia, 27-30 September for a one-of-a-kind opportunity to create music for screen and games projects via supporting partners South Australian Film Corporation (SAFC), games studio Mighty Kingdom and IGEA (Interactive Games & Entertainment Association).

All participants will collaborate under the direction of versatile songwriter, producer and music supervisor Jasper Leak. Leak’s songwriting includes credits on Sia’s chart-topping albums 1000 Forms of Fear and This Is Acting, music for Amazon’s Transparent and Netflix’s 13 Reasons Why and he received an Emmy nomination in 2019 for Outstanding Music Supervision on Netflix’s acclaimed documentary Quincy.

The initiative represents a unique chance for composers and songwriters to be a part of South Australia’s booming screen industry, which is a significant contributor to the state’s economy each year through development and production of feature film, documentaries, series and games, and post-production, digital and visual effects (PDV). South Australia has seen a massive influx of screen productions including blockbuster Mortal Kombat, Zac Efron film Gold, and Stan, HBO and BBC series The Tourist starring Jamie Dornan, with a record-breaking high of $146 million spent in the state on drama production and post production in 2019/20.

Leak will be joined by acclaimed composer Amanda Brown (The Secrets She Keeps, Babyteeth – 2020 AACTA Award for Best Music Score); AACTA and APRA Screen Music Award winning composer for Judy & Punch and Grammy-winning producer François Tétaz; composer, sound designer and musician Morgan Read of Mighty Kingdom (Peter Rabbit Run!, Wild Life, Shopkins) and Music Supervisor special guest Jemma Burns, whose credits include the films Lion, Judy & Punch, True History of the Kelly Gang and TV series Top of the Lake, Mystery Road, Eden and many more.

APRA AMCOS members creating music for the screen and/or games are invited to apply and can find out more at

“It’s fantastic to see Screen SongHubs being held in Australia for the first time, and we are thrilled to host this in South Australia, reinforcing our state as a destination for creative entrepreneurship. The Marshall Government, through the Music Development Office is proud to be major partner, with support from the South Australian Film Corporation, Mighty Kingdom and IGEA, in promoting collaboration across our creative industries,” said David Pisoni, Minister for Innovation and Skills.

“Music creators play a crucial role in the success of stories on the screen and across our devices, so APRA AMCOS is thrilled to partner with the South Australian Government’s Music Development Office and our content partners the South Australian Film Corporation, Mighty Kingdom and IGEA on this incredibly valuable opportunity,” said Dean Ormston, Chief Executive, APRA AMCOS.

The first SongHubs dedicated to music for the screen took place in Los Angeles in 2019, curated by screen composer Ashley Irwin, with music written, recorded and produced for feature film Snake River and actor/filmmaker Charmaine Bingwa’s short in the shadows

Since SongHubs launched in 2013, over $2.9 million in performance royalties for the initiative’s collaborators has been earned. SongHubs has produced commercial releases for the likes of Briggs, Troye SivanTayla Parx, Morgan Evans, Client LiaisonPeking Duk, Tkay MaidzaAinslie WillsThe Chainsmokers, Guy Sebastian, Ecca Vandal, Kate Miller-Heidke and many more.

« Back to News