Search SAFC


News & Events

Filmmakers selected for Aboriginal Short Film Initiative

08 August 2016

Five South Australian aboriginal filmmakers have been selected to receive $20,000 each in funding along with mentoring and professional development from some of Australia’s leading film industry figures to make their own short drama.

Edoardo Crismani, Isaac Lindsay, Kiara Milera, Thibul Nettle and Dylan Coleman will all receive funding and support as part of the new SAFC Aboriginal Short Film Initiative – a key initiative of the recently officially launched South Australian Film Corporation’s Aboriginal Screen Strategy 2015-2020.

This week twelve filmmakers, including those receiving the Short Film Initiative funding, are participating in an intensive 5-day Production and Development Workshop at SAFC’s Adelaide Studios.

The workshop will be run by Writer/Directors Beck Cole and Warwick Thornton.  Beck Cole has extensive film credits, including the feature film Here I Am as well as the AACTA award winning sketch show Black Comedy and the drama series Redfern Now.  Warwick Thornton has an extensive career as Director Writer and Cinematographer. His debut feature film Samson & Delilah was awarded the prestigious Camera d’Or at the 2009 Cannes International Film Festival, and his short film Nana won the Crystal Bear at the 2008 Berlin International Film Festival.

Other guest lecturers at the workshops include sound recordist Will Sheridan (Girl Asleep, December Boys) film editor Tania Nehme (Alexandra’s Project), and cinematographer Allan Collins (Mad Bastards, Beneath Clouds) Screen Australia’s Development Executive Louise Gough.

Workshop participants will receive support and advice from these industry experts on developing their stories, working with Directors of Photography (DOP), Editors, and on production planning, scouting locations and script development.

Read the full release here.

Featured image: L>R: Warwick Thornton, Beck Cole, Thibul Nettle, Natasha Wanganeen, Issac Lindsey, Tess O’Flaherty, Edoardo Crismani, Kiara Milera, Georgia Humphreys, Dylan Colemen, Garth Agius

« Back to News