Search SAFC


News & Events

Cast announced for Stan Original series Thou Shalt Not Steal

14 September 2023
Dylan River, Sherry-Lee Watson and Will McDonald. Photo courtesy of Stan.

New Stan Original series Thou Shalt Not Steal will soon begin production in South Australia, featuring an all-star Australian cast.

Filming is now underway in Alice Springs on the eight-episode road series, which is set in Central and South Australia during the 1980s, with the production making its way to South Australia soon.

The series stars Sherry-Lee Watson (Heartbreak High), Will McDonald (Heartbreak High, Young Rock), Miranda Otto (The Clearing, Talk To Me, Stan Original Film The Portable Door) and Noah Taylor (Peaky Blinders, Game of Thrones). It is being directed by AACTA Award-winning filmmaker Dylan River (Mystery Road: Origin, Robbie Hood) who also serves as co-creator alongside AACTA Award-winning executive producer Tanith Glynn-Maloney (Finding Jedda, She Who Must Be Loved, Robbie Hood).

The series also features an impressive ensemble cast including SA actor Natasha Wanganeen (Stan Original Series The Tourist, The New Boy), Warren H Williams (True Colours, The Secret Daughter), William McKenna (The Messenger, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child), Darren Gilshenan (Stan Original Series No Activity, Stateless, Harrow), Shari Sebbens (The Sapphires, The Office Australia), Fiona O’Loughlin (Get Krack!n, That’s Not My Dog!), Damian Walshe-Howling (Last King of the Cross, Janet King), Geoff Morrell (The Lord of the Rings: The Rings of Power, Top of the Lake: China Girl), Justin Rosniak (Mr Inbetween, Last King of the Cross), Andy Golledge (Robbie Hood), Eddie Baroo (Irreverent, Blueback), Fletcher Humphreys (Stan Original Series Scrublands, Last King of the Cross), and more.

Supported by the South Australian Film Corporation (SAFC), Thou Shalt Not Steal is expected to inject more than $3.6 million into the state’s economy and create 89 jobs for South Australians across crew and cast.

Minister for the Arts Andrea Michaels MP said: “It’s very exciting to have a major Stan Original series like Thou Shalt Not Steal coming to South Australia. It speaks volumes about the remarkable skill and creativity of our screen sector alongside the incredible locations we have on offer in South Australia that we continue to see a pipeline of major productions taking place in our state. The Malinauskas Government will continue to invest in and support our world-class film industry to tell uniquely South Australian stories to the world.”

SAFC CEO Kate Croser said: “The SAFC is delighted to welcome Stan back to South Australia for Thou Shalt Not Steal, the latest exciting series to come from our successful production partnership following international hit series The Tourist and feature films Gold and A Sunburnt Christmas.

“We are pleased to welcome multi-Emmy Award winning Ludo Studio to the state as they establish their production base for the series here in Adelaide, bringing with them the exceptional talents of NT writer/director/producer team Dylan River and Tanith Glynn-Maloney.

“This thrilling new First Nations-led production will take advantage of iconic road trip locations through the central corridor of Australia, showcasing some of South Australia’s stunning Outback landscapes.”

The series follows Robyn (Watson), a young Aboriginal woman searching for the truth behind a mysterious family secret, who escapes from detention and reluctantly teams up with awkward teenager Gidge (McDonald). Together they flee her small central desert community on a perilous journey across the outback, finding answers and learning some hard life lessons along the way.

The story is centred around a road trip from Alice Springs to Adelaide in the 1980s and will feature distinctive South Australian landscapes and locations.

Thou Shalt Not Steal is produced by multi-Emmy and BAFTA Award-winning Ludo Studio by Charlie Aspinwall and Daley Pearson (Bluey, Robbie Hood), and Sophie Miller (The Family Law), alongside producer Sam Moor (Bluey) with Since1788 Productions. Cailah Scobie and Donna Chang Executive Produce for Stan.

Thou Shalt Not Steal has received major production investment from Screen Australia with support from the South Australian Film Corporation, Screen Territory and Screen Queensland’s Post, Digital and Visual Effects (PDV) Incentive.

« Back to News