Search SAFC


News & Events

ABC drama Operation Buffalo debuts in May

01 May 2020
Operation Buffalo (2020) - image courtesy ABC
Operation Buffalo, image courtesy ABC.

Captivating new SAFC supported six-part drama series Operation Buffalo (previous working title Fallout) will debut on ABC and ABC iview on Sunday 31 May at 8.30pm. Inspired by true events, Operation Buffalo explores a controversial time in Australia’s modern history.

Produced by Porchlight Films and co-created, written and directed by Peter Duncan (Rake), Operation Buffalo stars Ewen Leslie (The Cry, The Gloaming), Jessica De Gouw (Riot, The Crown, The Secrets She Keeps), internationally acclaimed actor James Cromwell (Succession, Babe, LA Confidential), Adrienne Pickering (Rake), Tony Martin (Blue Murder), Frances Djulibing (Ten Canoes), Shaka Cook (Black Comedy), Shantae Barnes-Cowan (Total Control) as well as Angus McLaren (Packed to the Rafters) and Ryan Johnson (Doctor Doctor).  

At Maralinga in South Australia in 1956, atom bombs were not the only things being tested. At the height of the Cold War, the human capacity for loyalty and betrayal were constantly pitted against each other. But not just in terms of espionage. Friend against friend. Lover against lover. Government against its people. If only trust could bloom in an infinite desert. But these are not trusting times.  

Operation Buffalo, which was filmed in South Australia in 2019, will be complemented by SAFC supported documentary Maralinga Tjarutja, which will premiere on Sunday 24 May at 7.40pm on ABC and iview.

Production Credit: Operation Buffalo is a Porchlight films production for the Australian Broadcasting Corporation. Major production investment from Screen Australia in association with the ABC and Screen NSW. Financed with support from the South Australian Film Corporation and Head Gear Films. International Distributor About Premium Content. Created by Peter Duncan and Tanya Phegan. Written and Directed by Peter Duncan. Produced by Vincent Sheehan and Tanya Phegan.  Executive Producers Anita Sheehan and Liz Watts.  ABC Executive Producers Sally Riley and Andrew Gregory.

« Back to News